My City: Bradford and Bronte County by Lisa Brankin

My Bradford by Lisa Brankin

  • Haworth

    I would take a first-time visitor to my city to Haworth it is a charming village amongst inspirational moorland.

  •  My favourite restaurant is the Cut Waterside restaurant at Shipley because of the quiet relaxed surroundings of a canal side location and it delicious modern British cuisine.
  • My favourite event in my city is Saltaire Festival because it is a fun, vibrant art & music event.
  • My favourite pub is Shipley Pride because they have a great video jukebox; it’s a traditional pub; think real ale and dogs allowed.
  • I would have my picture taken outside City Hall (location that shouts Bradford) because of the landmark bell/tower clock.
  • My favourite view of the city is looking across the valley from Bolton Road.  You can see for miles on a clear day, the view takes in all that defines Bradford countryside, Bradford City football ground, and industrial heritage; mill chimneys standing proud in the distance.
  • You can buy great gifts at Salts Mill from one of many independent stores.
  • For the best night out, I would go Alhambra theatre, because it attracts Broadway shows and great actors.

  • The most unusual thing about my city is the House of Rose & Brown vintage shop because not only is it a great shop but they hold fashion shows and regular vintage fairs in Saltaire.
  • I would describe the people of my city as friendly and down to earth.
  •  If you have half a day in my city, I would suggest you visit the Bradford Industrial Museum.  When I think of the history of Bradford I think of wool and mills all of which can be found at the Industrial museum which celebrates Bradford’s Industrial heritage.
  • The best way to see my city is on foot, following great countryside walks or trails of the city centre.
  • I would like to stay at Midland Hotel if I came to visit because of its Victorian charm, and stunning ballroom with glittering chandeliers.
Leave a Reply

